When Wishes Bleed (When Wishes Bleed, Book 1)

About the Book:

The upheaval in my life began the moment a prince stumbled into my house and asked me to read his fortune. Any other night, I might have made an excuse to get him to leave, but this was no normal visit. My fingers prickled to touch him. So, I granted his request by handing him a single wishbone. When he snapped it, the wish … bled.

Hearing me suck in a shocked breath, he asked what it meant. Such an ominous omen could only mean one thing: his death was imminent. Fate revealed that he wouldn’t die of natural causes. Someone wanted him dead. Stunned by the revelation, the man I now knew as Prince Tauren disappeared into a night I feared he wouldn’t survive.

The following day, I received an invitation to the castle. While it seemed the prince believed I could intervene and uncover who was plotting his death, his motives didn’t stop there. I was being summoned to join twelve other women in vying for the opportunity to be his wife and future queen. Going could mean jeopardizing my plans to reclaim my heritage and resurrect the House of Fate. But staying would guarantee Tauren’s death, and the blood of his wish would be on my hands.

When Wishes Bleed is a young adult fantasy romance perfect for fans of Adrienne Young, Cora Carmack and Kiera Cass.

 

 

Review:

The beginning of this book was so good. I loved the world-building that started from chapter 1, however I was disappointed with the way the plot turned.

The plot development in the beginning was great, however after a few chapters it started picking up the insta-love trope, which I personally felt should have not been there. It took a lot of potential from the plot as the book became more focused on romance than the secrets and mysteries spoken about in the beginning.

The world-building however was just amazing. There were some Hunger Games and The Selection vibes, but I loved the House system Bond created for the witches as well as the magic and secrets that went with the Houses.

The characters were pretty good. Ignoring the romance bit, there was some great development of the main character. However, I loved Mira, even if she wasn’t the main character.

Overall, I did mostly enjoy this book. There was some disappointment, with the insta-love trope, but the other tropes and parts of the book made up for it.

*I received a copy of this book from the author and am leaving this review voluntarily.*

The Gift of Dragons (The Gift of Dragons Duology, Book 1)

About the Book:

BLURB:

When the prince Adelaide seeks to overthrow tries convincing her that the legendary dragons exist and need help, Adelaide must decide where her true allegiance lies before the kingdom shatters.

Ever since the Gyndilians murdered her sister, Adelaide has plotted a rebellion to overthrow the king and prince who failed to protect them during the attack. Following her across the country is a stranger – not just any stranger, but the prince she’s hoping to overthrow – and Adelaide’s plans begin to collapse. But Prince Elias has his own dangerous secrets – secrets connected to the dragons that once lived in the land. If he can’t earn Adelaide’s trust, there may never be any peace for Adelaide, her people, or the dragons.

 

In The Gift of Dragons by Rachel A. Greco, the fate of two species rests on the tip of a dagger. Can Adelaide overcome her prejudices and thirst for revenge to do what’s best for her people before rage and sorrow consume her?

Review:

This book was filled with amazing descriptions and great world-building. The plot was interesting and then that plot twist.

The plot in this book was really good. I loved the plot twist at the end and the way Greco wove the world-building into this book. The only thing I can complain about was the pacing of the book in the beginning. It did smooth out, but it made the beginning a bit hard to read.

Character development was okay. I did have mix feelings about Adelaide. At times she did rub me the wrong way, however most of the time I did like her character. To be honest, most of the characters were amazing and easy to relate to.

**I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.**

Every Variable of Us

About the Book:

After Philly teenager Alexis Duncan is injured in a gang shooting, her dreams of a college scholarship and pro basketball career vanish in an instant.

Read more

The Lost Sister (Daughters of Elydon, Book 1)

About the Book:

Meira:
I’ve lived two hundred years without my sister–my twin. And the worst part is she doesn’t even know I exist.

Now, I’m sneaking into the kingdom where I was born, right under the nose of our megalomaniac father, who happens to be the king.

He can’t know I’m here, or we’ll both be trapped.
Read more

Blade of Ash (Scepter and Crown, Book 1)

About the Book:

The only way to beat death is to chase it.

Newly crowned, Red blames one person for his father’s murder: the secret sorceress sworn to protect the king.

Alyana Barron, Royal Sorcerer to the throne of Tandera, fears her magic is weakening.

Read more