When Wishes Bleed (When Wishes Bleed, Book 1)

About the Book:

The upheaval in my life began the moment a prince stumbled into my house and asked me to read his fortune. Any other night, I might have made an excuse to get him to leave, but this was no normal visit. My fingers prickled to touch him. So, I granted his request by handing him a single wishbone. When he snapped it, the wish … bled.

Hearing me suck in a shocked breath, he asked what it meant. Such an ominous omen could only mean one thing: his death was imminent. Fate revealed that he wouldn’t die of natural causes. Someone wanted him dead. Stunned by the revelation, the man I now knew as Prince Tauren disappeared into a night I feared he wouldn’t survive.

The following day, I received an invitation to the castle. While it seemed the prince believed I could intervene and uncover who was plotting his death, his motives didn’t stop there. I was being summoned to join twelve other women in vying for the opportunity to be his wife and future queen. Going could mean jeopardizing my plans to reclaim my heritage and resurrect the House of Fate. But staying would guarantee Tauren’s death, and the blood of his wish would be on my hands.

When Wishes Bleed is a young adult fantasy romance perfect for fans of Adrienne Young, Cora Carmack and Kiera Cass.

 

 

Review:

The beginning of this book was so good. I loved the world-building that started from chapter 1, however I was disappointed with the way the plot turned.

The plot development in the beginning was great, however after a few chapters it started picking up the insta-love trope, which I personally felt should have not been there. It took a lot of potential from the plot as the book became more focused on romance than the secrets and mysteries spoken about in the beginning.

The world-building however was just amazing. There were some Hunger Games and The Selection vibes, but I loved the House system Bond created for the witches as well as the magic and secrets that went with the Houses.

The characters were pretty good. Ignoring the romance bit, there was some great development of the main character. However, I loved Mira, even if she wasn’t the main character.

Overall, I did mostly enjoy this book. There was some disappointment, with the insta-love trope, but the other tropes and parts of the book made up for it.

*I received a copy of this book from the author and am leaving this review voluntarily.*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Rate this review