Simone Breaks All the Rules (Simone Breaks All the Rules, Book 1)

About the Book:

Late bloomers unite! This fresh and funny #ownvoices novel from rising star Debbie Rigaud is perfect for fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Booksmart.

Simone Thibodeaux’s life is sealed in a boy-proof container.


Her strict Haitian immigrant parents enforce no-dating rules and curfews, and send Simone to an all-girls school. As for prom? Simone is allowed to go on one condition: her parents will select her date (a boy from a nice Haitian immigrant family, obviously).

Simone is desperate to avoid the humiliation of the set up — especially since she’s crushing on a boy she knows her parents wouldn’t approve of. With senior year coming to a close, Simone makes a decision. She and her fellow late-bloomer friends will create a Senior Year Bucket List of all the things they haven’t had a chance to do. On the list: kissing a boy, sneaking out of the house, skipping class (gasp!), and, oh yeah — choosing your own prom date.

But as the list takes on a life of its own, things get more complicated than Simone expected. She’ll have to discover which rules are worth breaking, and which will save her from heartbreak.

 

Review:

I loved this book. It is the type of book that many readers could relate to. The book did have a few clichés, but it was an interesting read.

Things I loved:
-I enjoyed the plot. You could see the plot development and it was great to see how the plot had a lot of depth as you read on.
-I loved the girl power in this book. The friendship between the four girls is amazing. They are there for each other and it doesn’t get toxic.
-Each character was different, but exciting. I loved the depth of each character’s relationship to one another.

Things I didn’t enjoy:
-The plot sometimes got predictable and it did have clichés in it.
-Simone did come across as annoying at first, but some great character development cleared that up quickly.

Overall, this was a fun read. I loved the characters and their relationships. It was interesting to read how the girls went through their list to break the rules. Plot development may not have been the best, character development made up for it.

*I received this book in exchange for my honest review.*

 

 

Please note that I use Amazon Affiliate links. So, every time you buy a book using the  link below, you help support this website at no extra cost to you. 

I love reading and have been doing it forever.  I created this site so that you can get ideas on what to read. You can also share your thoughts and ideas on any books. I would love to hear from you and see what books you love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review