Reckless I: The Petrified Flesh (Mirrorworld Series, Book 1)

Release Date: 1st June 2021

(This book is the revised book of Reckless)

About the Book:


Jacob has uncovered the doorway to another world, hidden behind a mirror. It is a place of dark magic and enchanted objects, scheming dwarves and fearsome ogres, fairies born from water and men born from stone.

Here, he hunts for treasure and seeks adventure in the company of Fox – a beautiful, shape­shifting girl, who guides and guards him.

But now Jacob’s younger brother has followed him into the mirrored world, and all that was freedom has turned to fear. Because a deadly curse has been spoken; and Jacob must risk his life to reverse it, before his brother is turned to stone forever…




This book was really interesting. I loved the dark twists Funke put on different fairy tales. However, I would have like to see more back story into Jacob. It was difficult to understand what was going on in the beginning.

The character development was average or lacking in some characters. I didn’t really understand who the Hentzen (Stone men) were.

Funke created a really unique world behind the mirrors. Overall the plot was great, but needed to slowed down. Character development needed some work. I really enjoyed reading this book and am excited to read the rest of this series.


**I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.**

I love reading and have been doing it forever.  I created this site so that you can get ideas on what to read. You can also share your thoughts and ideas on any books. I would love to hear from you and see what books you love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review