Curse of Shadows and Thorns (The Broken Kingdoms: Northern Kingdom, Book 1)

About the book:

A rebellious princess. A cursed rogue. A forbidden love that will bring a kingdom to its knees.

As niece of the king, Elise Lysander cares about two things: sneaking into gambling dens, and avoiding an advantageous marriage at all costs.

When her uncle holds the life of her deathly-ill father over her head, reluctantly Elise puts her fate into the hands of Legion Grey, the handsome and mysterious dowry negotiator. He may be arrogant and infuriating, but soon Legion incites a blistering, forbidden passion she can’t ignore.

As their attraction grows, so do the dangers: attacks from black-eyed people, a cursed enemy who is more beast than man, and rumors of fae returning for the crown stolen long ago.

After a bloody coup upends the kingdom, Elise flees with Legion, but nothing is as it seems. The man she allowed into her heart reveals his own secret plans with the return of magic—and he has every intention of using Elise to see them through.

With war between magic and mortal on the horizon, Elise must pick a side to protect her kingdom. Does she stand with her people who stole the throne? Or with a man who lied his way into her heart and whose secret past could bring her destruction?

Filled with luscious world building, banter-filled romance, and epic battles, this first book in the Broken Kingdoms series is part Viking, part Beauty and the Beast, and perfect for fans of The Shadows Between Us.

 

 

Review:

This book was really good. I loved the plot, world-building and Elise, the witty rebellious princess. The book was so fast-paced and continuously kept me on my toes.

The plot and story-line were amazing. Andrews beautifully written scenes were not afraid to pack in some action and intrigue. And please don’t get me started on those plot twists. Agghhhh… They were all so good. As was the world-building in this book.

Finally, this book had so many wonderfully written characters. They were strong and thoroughly developed throughout the book. It was so easy to just love the characters.

Overall, this book was a fantastic read. I loved every moment and cannot wait to read the rest of this series.

*Thank you to the author for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.*

I love reading and have been doing it forever.  I created this site so that you can get ideas on what to read. You can also share your thoughts and ideas on any books. I would love to hear from you and see what books you love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review