Streaks of Blue (Nikki Janicek Series, Book 1)

Adam Upton and Thomas “Lee” Harvey are plotting the next big school massacre at their New Hampshire high school. Nicole Janicek, who knew Adam in elementary school, tries to reconnect with the damaged teen at the start of their senior year. But will Nicole’s attempt to befriend the would-be killer disrupt the plot and turn Adam’s life around before the clock strikes 12:14?

Read more


When technophobic Lucy learns how to mindhack, three things happen:

1.Her longtime crush is now her boyfriend

2.They solve small crimes together

3.She has been deleted from everyone’s memory – including his

Read more

Reckless I: The Petrified Flesh (Mirrorworld Series, Book 1)

Release Date: 1st June 2021

(This book is the revised book of Reckless)

About the Book:


Jacob has uncovered the doorway to another world, hidden behind a mirror. It is a place of dark magic and enchanted objects, scheming dwarves and fearsome ogres, fairies born from water and men born from stone.

Here, he hunts for treasure and seeks adventure in the company of Fox – a beautiful, shape­shifting girl, who guides and guards him.

But now Jacob’s younger brother has followed him into the mirrored world, and all that was freedom has turned to fear. Because a deadly curse has been spoken; and Jacob must risk his life to reverse it, before his brother is turned to stone forever…




This book was really interesting. I loved the dark twists Funke put on different fairy tales. However, I would have like to see more back story into Jacob. It was difficult to understand what was going on in the beginning.

The character development was average or lacking in some characters. I didn’t really understand who the Hentzen (Stone men) were.

Funke created a really unique world behind the mirrors. Overall the plot was great, but needed to slowed down. Character development needed some work. I really enjoyed reading this book and am excited to read the rest of this series.


**I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.**

Shadows Over London (Empire of the House of Thorns, Book 1)

Release Date: 25th May 2021


About the book:

The Faerie have come to take London, and only one girl stands in their way.

Justice isn’t your average fifteen-year-old girl. She’s an irrepressible scoundrel, and she always has a plan. But her world falls apart when her father forcibly bundles the entire family into carriages in the middle of the night and carts them off to a strange mansion on the outskirts of Victorian London. The Faerie are invading, but the Kasric siblings can’t stay neutral in the ensuing war when they find their parents on opposing sides. Justice has no choice but to embrace her burgeoning magical powers to fight against the Faerie and save her family.

For fans of The Golden Compass and A Sorcerer to the Crown.


This book was really unique. It was mix between Lord of the Rings and Pirates of the Caribbean. I love the adventure and plot twists along the way.

The story was well developed, but as a bit slow in the beginning. The story did keep you on your toes and wanting more. You could see some character development within the book, but I would have liked to see a bit more. The amount of new characters being introduced towards the middle and end was very overwhelming. It did take a bit of time to remember character’s names and functions in the book.

Overall the book was enjoyable. I would love to see better character development in book 2.


**I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.**